Melbourne Cup Race Time 2022

Stop whatever you are doing and take your calendar to mark the Melbourne Cup time and date for 2022 – November 1st on Tuesday at 3:00 pm (Eastern Daylight Saving Time). 

Remember that the time of the Melbourne Cup depends on the location from where you are watching, so always take into consideration the time zone of your location. Be absolutely sure of the starting time of the race, wherever you are – the whole excitement that has been building up for months will be over in around 3 and a half minutes. 

Read our article to discover what time is the Melbourne Cup race at your location, the schedule as well as when the Melbourne Cup parade. 

Calendar with clock and tournament grid icon at Online Betting Aus

2022 Melbourne Cup Time (By State)

Do you wonder what time is Melbourne Cup throughout the territory of Australia? Check the list below and find your state to know when to join the fun.

  • Darwin – 1:30 pm;
  • Brisbane – 2:00 pm;
  • Canberra – 3:00 pm;
  • Sydney – 3:00 pm;
  • Melbourne – 3:00 pm;
  • Hobart – 3:00 pm;
  • Adelaide – 2:30 pm;
  • Perth – midday.

Contoured borders of Australia and a clock icon next to the Online Betting Aus logo

Melbourne Cup Race Schedule

The Melbourne Cup date is Tuesday, 1st November. Flemington Course will be home to 10 races on the same day, and the Melbourne Cup is the 7th in a row. 

For those wondering what time is the Melbourne Cup run, the officially declared time is 3:00 pm, local time. However, this depends on many factors and can be slightly altered as race day approaches. The breaks between races are supposed to be 40 minutes long, however, lots of things can influence this time. Some of them include scratchings made at the last minute, untypical horse behaviour, weather conditions, or other unforeseen formalities.  

Revisit our OnlineBettingAUS site for the exact schedules of the first and last dates which will be published when the time comes. 

A clock against the backdrop of a horse race at OnlineBetting Aus

Melbourne Cup Race Schedule 2021

NumberTimeRaceConditionsDistancePrize pool2021 Winner
110:45amMaribyrnong PlateSet Weights 2YO1,000mAU$200,000Brereton
211:20amBM96 HandicapHandicap2,800mAU$130,000Team Captain
312:00pmResimax Group Subzero HandicapSet Weights + Penalties 3YO1,400mAU$130,000Excelman
412:40pmFurphy Plate Handicap1,800mAU$175,000Milton Park
51:20pmGrinders Coffee Roasters TrophyHandicap1,400mAU$130,000Lackeen
61:55pmThe Schweppervescence PlateSet Weights plus Penalties1,000mAU$130,000Profiteer
73:00pmMelbourne CupGroup 1 Handicap3,200mAU$7,300,000Verry Elleegant
84:00pmThe Hong Kong Jockey Club StakesSet Weights plus Penalties1,400mAU$200,000Rich Hips
94:40pmTAB Trophy StakesSet Weights + Penalties 3YO1,800mAU$175,000Spirit of Gaylard
105:15pmMSS Security SprintHandicap1,200mAU$175,000Quantico

Melbourne Cup Parade Time

As if the race wasn’t exciting enough, Australians take to the streets and join the celebrations before the race – the Melbourne Cup Parade.

For those who wonder when is the Melbourne Cup parade, it starts at 12 pm local time at the intersection between Swanston and Bourke Streets, and horses and jockeys will parade all the way to Federation Square. 

Melbourne Cup Tournament Parade at OnlineBetting Aus Logo

Melbourne Cup International Start Times

AreaTime
London, UK5:00 am
Auckland, NZ6:00 pm
New York, NY, USAMidnight – 12:00am
Los Angeles, CA, USA9:00 pm
Paris, France6:00 am
Cape Town, SA7:00 am
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil3:00 am
Denpasar, Indonesia 1:00 pm
Tokyo, Japan2:00 pm
Beijing, China1:00 pm

FAQ

What time is the Melbourne Cup 2022?

The Melbourne Cup 2022 race will start at 3:00 pm local time. The race is the 7th in a row out of 10 that will occur on the Flemington Racecourse that day.

When is the Melbourne Cup 2022?

The official date of the Melbourne Cup is 1st November, Tuesday, 2022. The race will start at 3:00 pm (Eastern Daylight Saving Time).

How long is the Melbourne Cup?

The distance of 3200 metres should be finished by the winner of the Melbourne Cup 2022 in around 3 minutes and 20 seconds if the track is in good condition. The fastest a horse has passed the distance is 3:16.3, and it was Kingston Rule in 1993.

How many races are there on Melbourne Cup day?

There are a total of 10 races held at Flemington Racecourse on Melbourne Cup Day, with the Cup coming 7th in a row. There will be a short break of 40 mins between each race, although the times can be altered due to various factors. Come back to our OnlineBettingAUS site to get information on the first and last race schedules when they are officially announced.